Let’s all do our part and teach our children and youth road safety.

This educational site is packed with learning tools and teaching aids that were developed based on the age of the students you’re teaching.

You can navigate the site by grade level or topic. There are teaching aids, posters, activities and games that can be used to engage children and youth.

Start Teaching Watch the video

Road Safety for Ontario’s Youth

Select the grade level

Each grade-level section includes adaptation tips, lesson plans and community engagement kits, as well as teaching and learning strategies. Cross-curricular links to literacy, health and physical education and other subject areas have also been identified for each grade level, helping to integrate the concept of road safety in various other subject lessons.


Teaching materials

You’ll find everything you need to deliver a complete lesson including printable posters, grading rubrics and sample achievement charts. Think of the lesson plans as guides, and adapt them for your classroom. You can add your own activities to make learning more engaging, and don’t forget to check out the Community Engagement Toolkits  for school-wide event ideas.

Now let’s teach road safety

Road Safety Resources Video

Kindergarten to Grade 3

These lessons address passenger safety, school bus safety, pedestrian safety and safe practices around riding a bicycle. Students will identify pedestrian and road rules to be followed around the home, school and community.

Get Started.

Grades 4 to 6

Through scenarios and group work, students will explore road safety rules to be followed through guided discussions as pedestrians, participants and passengers around the home, school and community.

Get Started.

Grades 7 to 8

These lessons address safety recognition, unsafe behaviours related to roadways, distracted driving and ways to prevent future collisions. It includes teaching how we communicate in society, social practices, relationships, knowledge, language and culture.

Get Started.

Grades 9 to 12

These lessons address road safety education and embed literacy instruction into curriculum delivery. Topics include alcohol- and drug-impaired driving, driving distractions, drowsy driving, aggressive driving, safe driving tips and information on ATV and snowmobile safety.

Get Started.


You can search specific road safety topics to find the resource that you want to learn about or teach.

Get Started.

Community Engagement Kits

Learning stretches beyond the classroom. These kits provide ideas, tools and resources to support events that teach and encourage road safety in your school and community.

Get Started.

“The Road Safety Resource is an important learning tool that will help students learn road safety skills and injury prevention at all ages. These skills are critical because we know that physical activity, such as walking to school or active transportation, contributes to student well-being and is ultimately part of a Healthy School. By giving our learners this knowledge at an early age, we are helping to promote achievement and well-being for all students across Ontario.”

- Liz Sandals, Minister of Education

Faisons tous notre part et enseigner la sécurité routière à nos enfants et à nos jeunes .

Ce site éducatif est rempli d’outils d'apprentissage et d’aides d'enseignement qui ont été développés en fonction de l' âge des élèves auxquels vous enseignez .
Vous pouvez naviguer dans le site par année scolaire ou par sujet. Il contient des documents didactiques, des affiches, des activités et des jeux qui peuvent être utilisés pour favoriser la participation des enfants et des jeunes.

Commencez à enseigner Voir la vidéo

La sécurité routière pour la jeunesse de l'Ontario.

Sélectionnez le niveau scolaire

Chaque section propre à un niveau scolaire contient des conseils d’adaptation, des plans de leçon et des trousses de sensibilisation de la collectivité, aussi bien que des stratégies d’enseignement et d’apprentissage. Des liens d’apprentissage jumelé vers la littératie, l’éducation sanitaire et physique, et d’autres disciplines ont également été identifiés pour chaque niveau scolaire, contribuant à intégrer le concept de sécurité routière à divers autres sujets de leçon.

Matériel pédagogique

Vous trouverez tout le nécessaire pour offrir une leçon complète, dont affiches imprimables, rubriques de notation et exemples de tableaux des réalisations. Voyez les plans de leçon en tant que guides et adaptez-les pour votre salle de classe. Vous pouvez ajouter vos propres exercices afin de rendre l’apprentissage plus invitant, et n’oubliez pas d’examiner les trousses d’outils de sensibilisation de la collectivité pour des idées d’événements scolaires généraux.

Sécurité routière Ressources vidéo


Maternelle à 3e année.

Ces leçons abordent la sécurité des passagers, sécurité à bord des autobus scolaires, sécurité piétonnière et pratiques prudentes concernant le cyclisme. Les élèves identifieront les règles piétonnières et routières à suivre à la maison, à l'école et dans la communauté.

Commencer.

4e à 6e années

Au moyen de scénarios et d'exercices de groupe, les élèves exploreront les règles de sécurité routière à respecter à l'aide de discussions en tant que piétons, participants et passagers à la maison, à l'école et dans la communauté.

Commencer.

7e et 8e années

Ces leçons abordent la reconnaissance de la sécurité, les comportements imprudents, la distraction au volant et des façons d'éviter toute collision ultérieure. Elles comprennent enseigner la façon que nous communiquons au sein d'une société, les pratiques sociales, les relations, les connaissances, la langue et la culture.

Commencer.

9e à 12e années

Ces leçons abordent l'éducation en matière de sécurité routière et intègrent l'enseignement de la littératie dans la diffusion du programme éducatif. Les sujets comprennent la conduite avec facultés affaiblies par l'alcool et la drogue, la conduite lorsque fatigué, la conduite agressive, des conseils sur la conduite sécuritaire et de l'information sur la sécurité en VTT et en motoneige.

Commencer.

Sujets

Vous pouvez faire des recherches dans des sujets de sécurité routière particuliers afin de trouver la ressource que vous aimeriez approfondir ou enseigner.

Commencer.

Sécurité routière : Trousse de sensibilisation de la collectivité

L'apprentissage s'étend au-delà de la salle de classe. Ces trousses fournissent des idées, des outils et de ressources pour le soutien d'événements qui enseignent et encouragent l'utilisation prudente des routes à votre école et dans votre communauté.

Commencer.

« Lorsque nous enseignons aux enfants la sécurité routière et que nous leur montrons les bons réflexes pour savoir comment se comporter lorsqu’il y a des voitures et des camions sur la route, nous leur apprenons en fait des leçons de vie; ils auront davantage conscience des dangers et nous les aiderons à mener une vie saine et active. Remplie d’informations utiles, la Ressource sur les routes sécuritaires préparée par la CAA favorise la sécurité des enfants et contribue à la force de nos collectivités. »

⎯ Mitzie Hunter, ministre de l’Éducation